Composers I Learned From

9 01 2010

Alberto Ginastera
What an amazing composer! I was introduced to his music at college this last semester. I thought I would hate it. He is a 20th Century composer. I truly thought I would hate his music.  But as I look back on it I feel he’s a genius. Maybe a little crazy but a genius none the less. His stuff might not be original, I wouldn’t know, but it’s amazing and fun to play. Different.

Johann Sebastian Bach

Well what can I say: “He’s a classic.” I know the college I go to, the teachers there LOVE Bach. I’ve only played his Inventions for the piano and one Concerto for the violin. His Inventions are works of pure genius. I wish I could compose genius stuff like Bach, well if I could I wouldn’t be writing this blog.

Fredrick Chopin

I can’t say much but that I don’t really enjoy his music. I love Bach because it’s basically emotionless and Ginastera because it’s crazy but to me Chopin is just beautiful. That’s just not enough to catch my attention.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 01 2010
Me

Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe! I’ll go and read some more! What do you see the future of this being?

10 01 2010
Anthony

Alberto Ginastera was amazing! I love his Estancia/Danzas del Ballet. Gustavo Dudamel did an awesome recording of this.

Bach… His organ works, choral music, oratiorios, harpsichord pieces, overtures, concertos… Every single one of them is amazing! I would have to disagree on the emotionless comment… Baroque music, even with its terraced dynamics is still very emotional and powerful. Bach’s oratiorios, St. Matthew’s Passion and St. John’s Passion are both filled with emotion. Just listen to the beautiful aria “Erbarme dich, sein Gott” from St. Matthew’s Passion! Even his concertos can be filled with emotion, just not exactly what we are used to.

Chopin was also a great composer. His Nocturnes are very beautiful and there are a lot to them. I agree with you that Chopin’s music is beautiful, but I disagree that his music is JUST beautiful. One source says this about his music: “Chopin’s compositions were written primarily for the piano as solo instrument. Though they are technically demanding, the emphasis in his style is on nuance and expressive depth. Chopin invented musical forms such as the instrumental ballade and was responsible for major innovations in the piano sonata, mazurka, waltz, nocturne, polonaise, étude, impromptu and prélude.”

Leave a Reply

