College Thoughts

27 04 2009

I really must question if I’m ready for college. I’m going to a “big” college. I guess it’s not really big, but at 5,000 students it seems big. When the population of the city you’re coming from is 12,000 the college seems huge. I think it’ll be huge culture shock. I must admit that my family isn’t the biggest travelers, for me to fly across the country to a state I’ve never been to, to a college I’ve never actually been to,  and a level of music study I’m not sure I’m ready for; this is very scarey. I honestly believe that this is God’s way of testing me, pushing me out of my comfort zone and testing my faith.

Flordia: the complete opposite of Washington. When I was considering colleges, the four I considered would test me. Two in California, one in Oklahoma, and one in Florida. All not what I’m used to. I think it was God’s way of putting me out of my comfort zone. Honestly if it were my choice I would have stayed at home, gone somewhere local, probably never left. As I think about it I must admit that I need this badly.

Now you may say: “You’ve never been to this college?! What?!” This is where I differ from many people. I prayed intesely about the college God wanted me to go to. This college I had the most peace about.  I honestly believe this is where He wants me. Could I be wrong, possiblely. This could be God putting me there for a time before having me move on. I don’t really know and I don’t think that I will know until it happens.

The music program scares me a little. I have a friend in the music program right now who tells me not to worry. She tells me I’ll do fine. I of course must worry about everything. It is unfortunately my personality. Something someday I hope I grow out of. The music program to me seems intesnse, of course I have nothing to compare it to. From what I’ve heard the music students are required to practice 15 – 20 hours a week, depending on the teacher. For me, balancing that with work, study, and a social life will be hard. Thankfully I’m not the most out going person in the world, I’m actually not that out going. 

Now you all have insight into my life. With college only 131 days away there’s so much to prepare for. I need some clothes, thankfully not to many but some still. I need to prepare two audition pieces. Yikes! I want them memorized even though it’s not required. I didn’t want to admit this but I need to learn how to wash and iron clothes. Something I just never learned. Unfortunately for me I don’t have a lot of time to do it. You’ll hear a lot more as college gets closer. Probably at about 100 days. If you’re a praying person please pray, I usually don’t get spiritual in my blog posts but this is the exception.

Actions

Information

One response

28 04 2009
Tim

Great blog post. Interesting. I think you’ll do well in college, you don’t need to worry.

Leave a Reply

